The Maryland Bar Foundation (MBF) is seeking nominations for the J. Joseph Curran Public Service Award. Nominations are due by February 17, 2017. The criterion for the award is listed below in the announcement. If you know of a member of our association that is worthy of nomination, please contact the co-chairs of our awards committee, Rick Herbig,, or Cami Rogers,, as soon as possible. Thank you.



The Maryland Bar Foundation seeks nominations for the J. Joseph Curran Public Service Award. The recipient of this award is either a government or public interest lawyer known for selflessly serving the public good and furthering the goals of better government and societal standards.


Background Information and Instructions:

  • Only current, dues-paying members of the Maryland Bar Foundation or the MSBA, licensed to practice in Maryland, may make nominations. A person may make more than one nomination.
  • Current members of the Officers and Board of Directors of the Maryland Bar Foundation are not eligible to be nominated.
  • To be eligible for nomination, a person must:

o   Currently be licensed to practice in Maryland

o   Currently be a dues-paying member of the MSBA

o   Practice predominately (i.e., have a principal office location) in Maryland

o   Be actively engaged in the practice of law in the 12-month period prior to the nomination deadline

o   Not be a prior recipient of the award

  • The award will be presented at the Open Meeting of the Board of Directors held in April.


Previous Recipients

2016  Hon. G. Edward Dwyer, Jr.

          Hon. Robert A. Zarnoch

2015  Margaret Ann Nolan

2014  Elizabeth Hewlett

2013  Ralph S. Tyler

2012  Karen L. Federman Henry

2011  Charles Blomquist

2010  John J. McCarthy

2009  Hon. Andrew L. Sonner

2008  Paul B. DeWolfe

2007  J. Joseph Curran, Jr.



The Officers and Board Members hope to see you at the Open Meeting in April. Thank you for assisting the Foundation in its effort to recognize exceptional contributions to the profession and the public.